Siliguri Mahila Mahavidyalaya

Siliguri Mahila Mahavidyalaya

Siliguri, Dist: Darjeeling, West Bengal, India

Affiliated To The University Of North Bengal

NAAC Accredited

ISO 9001:2115

Political Science

Our Departments


About The Department

Year of Establishment: Academic Session of Affiliation - General(1981-82), Honours(1994-95)

The Department of Political Science was introduced as Pass Course subject for the students in the year 1981-82 when the College ‘Siliguri Mahila Mahavidyalaya’ was established . The growing interest and demand of the students in the subject led to the introduction of Honours Course in the year 1994-95. Presently, the department has 2 substantive faculties one Associate Professors and one Assistant Professor with Ph. D, and three State Aided College Teachers one with Ph. D. and one with M. Phil. having rich teaching experience as well as a wide range of research interests and academic specialization. The department currently offers Political science Honours course in CBCS mode and Political Science Major under Four Years Undergraduate Programme (FYGUP). Apart from delivering good quality of education the department of political science actively organizes student centric seminars, inter-departmental seminars, invited lectures and publications of wall magazines on the issues of diverse interests’ through-out the academic session. To build up confidence level of the students the department organizes for mock parliament, quiz completion, ex-tempore speech and so on. The students of this department are taken for the educational tour to make learning more interesting and dynamic. The alumi of the Department are successfully working in various education institutions and other sectors.

Why Study This Subjects

The study of Political Science has special importance in all countries. Its study helps us to understand the mechanism and constitutional systems of modern government, the principles of government, the domestic and foreign policies of the nation, the legislature, executive and judiciary of different countries, etc. The principles of liberty, equality and fraternity are also made clear by the study of political science. Keeping in mind its importance and utilitarian value, Aristotle regarded Political Science as “the supreme science” or “the masters of all science”. Siliguri Mahila Mahavidyalaya started its journey in 1981 and since then teaching of Political Science as a General subject started. However, because of continuous demand from the students of the area, study of Political Science as Honours subject was introduced in the beginning of the nineties of the last century. Studying Political Science opens a number of career options for the students which includes – Law, Teaching, Research, Political Journalism, Administrative Services, Political advisors, International Relations etc. Many of our students are well-established in their respective field.

Intake Capacity


Study Materal

Study materials are provided to the students before, during and after the completion of each topic, in the form of:

Department Result (Last Five Yaers)

YearStudents AppearedStudents Passed1st ClassTopper
2019 (3rd Year Honours)2322-55.88%
2021 (6th Semester)31302471.33%
2022 (6th Semester)19191972.1%
2023 (6th Semester)25090975.64%

Course Structure

Infrastructure Of The Department: The Department Has Been Allotted Room No. 13 For Honours Classes And Room No. 4 For Programme Classes.

Student Progression

Placement Of Students ( Last Five Years)

YearName of the employer with contact detailsName of the studentTotal number of studentsYear of GraduationPay Package at appointment. (Per Annum)
2018-19NilNilNil2018Data not received.
2019-201. Tiger Associate
2. Insperia Public school, Naxalbari.
1. Barsha Sarkar
2. Binita Ghosh
22019Data not received.
2020-211. Asst. Teacher at Laurence Public School
2. Reporter, Editorial, Sanmar press
1. Kajal Prasad
2. Anjali Pandey
12020Data not received.
2021-221. Abacus teacher
2. Anjali Homoeopathic Medical Clinic.
3. Pvt. English Medium School.
1.Shreyashi Dey
2.Sampa Saha
3.Lipika Das
Data not received.
Data not received.
2022-231. Primary School Teacher at Netaji Sishu Niketan.
2. Professional Photographer
1. Shitangshi Chowdhury
2. Disha Das
22022Data not received.

Student Achievement (Last Five Years)

Sl. No.Name of the Student Details of the Achievement /Team
1Anushka Pal2nd Position in Inter College Youth Parliament Competition 2019 held at Siliguri Mahila Mahavidyalaya
Liza Chgoudhury
Kajal Singh
Moumita Banik
Mohana Das
Mouparna Nandi
Nandini Kahar
Nandini Sen
Piu Das
Prokiti Dutta
Rakhi Barman
Rupsa Sarkar
Sanchita Sen
Shreyasi Dey
Volina Poddar
2Suchitra Sharma2nd Position in Essay Writing in Youth parliament competition, 2022, Ghoshpukur College

Educational Excursion

YearPlace of visitNo. of student participants
27.09.2022North Bengal Museum23
18.03.2023Phansidewa Gram Panchayat16

Highlights of the Departments

Scroll to Top